Closing Argument

Issue: Winter 2022

Celebrating the Benson Memorial Scholarship

Donors and scholarship recipients came together to celebrate the Dee Benson Memorial Scholarship.

By Kevin Carrillo.

On November 8, donors, family members and friends met at the College of Law and online to celebrate the memorial scholarship that has been established to recognize the life and contributions of Judge Dee Benson.

The attendees included Benson’s children, as well as his twin brother and his dear friend Judge Paul Warner, both of whom spoke, and many of his past clerks. The attendees also met Heather Budge Robison and Zachary Scott, the first recipients of the scholarship.

To date, over 120 donors and 16 firms and organizations have donated $231,000 to the endowed scholarship. Contribution can be made here.

Founding Donors of the Dee Benson Memorial Scholarship


Alison Adams

Michael Archer

David Backman

Crystal and David Barlow

Caroline and Scott Bates

David and Jennifer Beck

Kerri and Lee Benson

Adam and Cyndi Buck

Richard and Suzanne Burbidge

Britton Butterfield

Tena Campbell

Kevin and Julee Carrillo

Patricia and Paul Cassell

Christiansen Law

Daniel and Elizabeth Chudleigh

Candice and Jascha Clark

Chayce David Clark

Natalie Clark

Jordan Clegg

Clyde Snow & Sessions

Jason Coles

Jon Collier

Laurie Seal Coles

Adam and Julie Crayk

Alex and Charity Dahl

Dentons, Durham, Jones and Pinegar

David and Mirissa Dibble

Dorsey & Whitney Foundation

Dorterra International

Charles and Shannon Freedman

James and Patricia Gilson

Debra and Ray Goodson

Marjorie and Tyler Green

Greenberg Traurig

Kayle Hardy

Stephen and Tauni Hill

Lindsay and Molonai Hola

Jeff and Cynthia Hunt

Jones, Waldo, Holbrook & McDonough

Brandon Johnson

Daniel Jones

Kim Jones

Kirk and Kristen Jowers

Katherine Judd and Jeremy Coon

Michael and Amy Kennedy

Steven and Jo Ellen Killpack

Dale and Rachel Kimball

Blake Kipp

Kirton McConkie

Clemens and Joanna Landau

Kurt Larsen

David Lee

Jacob Lee

Jordan Lee

Marilyn Lee

Sheridan Lee

David Leta

Todd and Cynthia Leishman

Tiffany Leone

Haley and John MacKay

Brent and Chris Manning

Maschoff Brennan

Mica McKinney

Mark and Cristina Miller

Alexandrea Nelson and Nichole Thomas

Greg Newman

Timothy Nichols

Howard Nielson

David Nuffer

Denise and Rick Nydegger

Daphne Oberg

Ryan Pahnke

Brett Parkinson

Clifford Parkinson

James Parkinson

Parr Brown Gee & Loveless

Parsons Behle & Latimer

Scott Pratt

Randall and Victoria Rader

Ray, Quinney & Nebeker Foundation

Scott Romney

Christine Roth

David and Bennie Sam

Jonathan and Leslie Schofield

Barbara and David Schwendiman

Zachary and Liz Shields

Snow Christensen

Christopher and Emily Snow

Bretta and Rajendu Srivastava

Kenneth Stegeby

Wesley Stein

Robert Steinbuch

James Stoddart

Sierra Elsie Taylor

The Tolman Group

Veda Travis

Angelina Tsu

United States District Court

Logan Vanderbilt

Paul and Linda Warner

Brooke Wells

Gregory and Heather White

Francis Wikstrom

Jessica Wilde

Workman Nydegger

Isaac Workman

Scott and Tracie Young